Lady Captain, Maryrose Richard-Obioha has emerged the winner of the 2021 Ladies Close Golf Championship.

The Amateur golfer was adjudged overall champion after grossing 197 with the nett of 148 to outplay other 65 players who featured in the 36 holes competition.

“I’m not surprised that I won the Close. I am so happy to win the trophy. It is not easy shaking off the duties of organizing the event and emerge winner among other ladies who equally are good golfers.

“I hope to keep up the good work and defend the trophy next year. I thank everyone who has supported us to make this a dream come true”

In the Ladies Handicap 0-18, Police Officer Amina Wilfred played 150 Nett to win the category while her colleague and Rival on the Course, Rachael Danjuma occupied second place Best Nett with 158 as Honourable Secretary of the Club, Lizzy Asomugha won the 4th place Best Nett.

In the handicap 19-36, Patience Katchy adjudged the Best NETT with 153 on count back after tied with J. Ayu on the same score margin.

In the Eaglet Veteran Ladies, N. Nwaogu grossed 104 to emerge Best Nett while MF Mmakwe won the Super Veterans.

The Men’s Best Gross of the night went to former Captain of the Club, Okey Igweh.

Chairman, Board of Trustees, IBB International Golf and Country Club, General IBM Haruna (Rtd) was full of happiness over the organization of the event.

” I will advise the young ones to engage themselves in the game of golf because Golf is a special game. Kudos must be given to those who make this possible as the name suggested, the competition is meant for the Ladies who are registered members of the Club”. he concluded.

In her reaction after the 3-day event, Hon. Secretary of the Lady’s Golf Section, Lizzy Asomugha who also won the longest drive, said, ” I will like to say it has been a very good one and ladies are so happy to play in the beautiful course made possible by our dear Lady Captain, Maryrose Richard-Obioha”.

This year’s Ladies Close Golf Championship was teed-off last week Thursday by the former Speaker, House of Representatives, Honourable Yakubu Dogara as well as other dignitaries.