Ibrahim Musa Gusau, has been sworn in as the new President of the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF.

He takes over from Amaju Pinnick having defeated other contestants with 39 votes at the end of a run-off election.

The  election was held on Friday, September 30, in Benin City, Edo State. 

Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu, long-term Chairman of two-time CAF Champions League winners Enyimba FC, swept to the 1st Vice President position by trashing Senator Obinna Ogba (Chairman of the Senate Committee on Youth and Sports Development) by 23 votes to 8.

Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed Fresh was unopposed for the position of Chairman of Chairmen, just as Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa had an easy ride picking a slot from the North West without any opposition.

Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen was elected from the North Central zone, edging incumbent Alhaji Mohammed Alkali by 22 votes to 19 in a run-off, just as incumbent Babagana Kalli and newman Timothy Henman Magaji succeeded in the North-East race.

Rt. Hon. Essien Udofot and Ms Aisha Falode won the two seats available from the South-South after an interesting run-off saw Essien taking 19 votes to Falode’s 13, with first-round leader Poubeni Ogun ejected with 7 votes.

The race for seats from the South-East zone was suspended on a technicality, but Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi made a return to the NFF Board from the South West just as Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi retained his seat.

Dele-Ajayi and Majekodunmi earned 12 votes each in the run-off, with Gafar Liameed third with 7 votes and Afolabi Taiwo Olugbenga in fourth place with 4 votes.

The momentous event that lasted well into the night was witnessed by three officials of world football-governing body, FIFA: Gelson Fernandes, Solomon Mudege and Ahmad Mohamed Mukhtar Harraz.Mr. Felix Majani was the eye of the Confederation of African Football.

Alhaji Mohammed Baba Abdullahi represented the Nigeria Olympic Committee.

The Deputy Governor of Edo State, His Excellency Comrade Philip Shaibu declared the event open, NFF director of communications, Ademola Olajire, said in a statement.