Arsenal were on Friday drawn to face PSV Eindhoven in the 2022/2023 Europa League group stage while Manchester United are up against Real Sociedad.

Norway’s Bodo/Glimt, who famously put six past eventual champions Roma in last year’s Conference League group stage, and FC Zurich join Arsenal and PSV Eindhoven in Group A.

PSV Eindhoven knocked out Arsenal in their last meeting in the 2007 UEFA Champions League last 16, 2-1 on aggregate.

Their group stage games in 2003 and 2005 saw two Arsenal wins and two draws.

Manchester United’s Group E also features Moldova’s Sheriff Tiraspol, who 12 months ago famously won at later champions Real Madrid in the UEFA Champions League, and Omonoia of Cyprus.

They meanwhile also faced Real Sociedad in the 2020/2021 last 32, winning 4-0 on aggregate en route to the final.

The draw conducted in Istanbul also pitted the 2021/2022 Conference League winners Roma against Spanish opposition in Group C, in the form of Real Betis.

HjK Helsinki and Bulgaria’s Ludogorets are also part of the group.

Germany’s Freiburg are in Group G with France’e Nantes, Olympiacos of Greece and Qarabag of Azerbaijan, while Union Berlin are up against Braga, Malmö and Belgium’s St Gilloise in Group D.

Group B features Dynamo Kiev, Rennes, Fenerbahce and AEK Larnaca, while Lazio, Feyenoord, Midtjylland, and Sturm Graz are in Group F.

Group H is made up of Red Star Belgrade, Monaco, Ferencvaros and Trabzonspor.

The group stage runs from Sept. 8 to Nov. 3.

The final match is scheduled for May 31, 2023 in Budapest, Hungary.

Europa League group stage draw in full
Group A: Arsenal, PSV Eindhoven, Bodo/Glimt, FC Zurich

Group B: Dynamo Kyiv, Rennes, Fenerbahce, AEK Larnaca

Group C: Roma, Ludogorets, Real Betis, HJK Helsinki

Group D: Braga, Malmo, Union Berlin, Union Saint-Gilloise

Group E: Manchester United, Real Sociedad, FC Sheriff, Omonia Nicosia

Group F: Lazio, Feyenoord, FC Midtjylland, SK Sturm Graz

Group G: Olympiakos, Qarabag, Freiburg, Nantes

Group H: Red Star Belgrade, Monaco, Ferencvaros TC, Trabzonspor