President, Nigeria Football Federation, Ibrahim Musa Gusau

By Obaloluwa Joshua, LAGOS

Ibrahim Gusau has emerged the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation, reports

Gusau defeated five other candidates in the election conducted in Benin City, Edo State on Friday.

The Zamfara-born administrator won the first ballot with 21 votes, while former first vice-president, Seyi Akinwunmi came second with 12 votes.

Shehu Dikko got six votes, while Abba Yola and Peterside Idah got one votes each.

Akinkunmi, Dikko and Yola all withdrew from the rerun.

After the rerun, Gusau got 39 votes, while Idah got one.