Ondo FA-Bet9ja-League
The 10-man committee members

Ondo State Football Association on Monday in Akure inaugurated a 10-man committee for the second edition of Bet9ja Ondo State Football League.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the league is for all amateur soccer clubs in the state.

Mr Dele Ajayi, Chairman, Ondo State Football Association, while inaugurating the committee, commended the defunct committee in charge of the maiden edition for organising a befitting competition for 69 clubs that participated across the state.

Ajayi said the committee’s performance in the first edition earned the state approval for the second edition of the league.

“Ondo State football development is first and must be paramount in the mind of everyone. What I am interested in is the development at every nook and crannies of Ondo State.

“The 69 clubs from Ondo State who took part in the maiden edition of Bet9ja Ondo State Football League went home happy but we want them happier and more fulfilled this time around,” he said.

The chairman also charged the new members to do a better job for the sake of posterity.

According to the chairman, Yomi Seriki retains his position as Chairman of the committee, while Sunday Aladenika remains the Chief Operating Officer.

NAN reports that other members of the committee include Charles Ogunyanmodi, Wole Ademoyegun, Henry Akingboju and Gabriel Aborowa.

The rest are Ondo Referees Council Chairman, Bola Ajayi; FA Secretary, Ibukun Adetoyinbo and SWAN Chairman in Ondo State, Segun Giwa, while Akintomide Akintoye is the Secretary of the committee.


Responding, Mr Yomi Seriki, Chairman, Bet9ja Football League Committee, said the state was one of those that stood out the last time, which was part of the reason they were considered again.

“Last year was a learning process for Ondo State, yet we had a great outing. I promise not to let the FA board and state down this year as well.

“We had a few problems then but we were able to cross our Ts and dot the Is,” he said.

Zion Warriors from Ondo emerged winners of the league in the maiden edition – 2022/2023.